2012 Distinguished Service Award Recipients Announced

Sat, 2012-03-31 09:00 -- Reni Barlow

Youth Science Canada is pleased to announce the ten recipients of its 2012 Distinguished Service Award. The Awards annually recognize up to ten volunteers and staff who have made an outstanding contribution, through innovation, long service, or leadership, to the organization or its programs at any level. Nominations are submitted by any two volunteers or staff at any level (by January 31) and selection of the recipients is made by the National Science Fair Committee.

Congratulations to:

Top - left to right:

  • Brian Burridge, Winnipeg MB
  • Gary Case, Portugal Cove-St. Philips NL
  • John Jack, Winnipeg MB
  • Laurie Kraftcheck, Exeter ON
  • Jamie Parsons, St. John's NL

Bottom - left to right:

  • Liette Philippe, Ottawa ON
  • Marthe Poirier, Montréal QC
  • Ruth Roedler, Carstairs AB
  • Wayne Stewart, Gorrie ON
  • Andrew Taylor, Fort McMurray AB
Recipients receive a crystal award, which is usually presented at a Regional Science Fair or the Canada-Wide Science Fair.

The complete list of recipients, from 1985 to the present, may be viewed on the Distinguished Service Awards page, along with the nomination guide.