2018 Distinguished Service Award Recipients Announced

Sat, 2018-03-31 22:58 -- Dominic Tremblay


Youth Science Canada is pleased to announce the ten recipients of its 2018 Distinguished Service Award. The Awards annually recognize up to ten volunteers and staff who have made an outstanding contribution, through innovation, long service, or leadership, to the organization or its programs at any level. Nominations are submitted by any two volunteers or staff at any level (by January 31) and selection of the recipients is made by the Board of Directors.

Congratulations to:

Top - left to right:

  • Jocelyn Caron, Alma QC
  • Shawna Christensen, Calgary AB
  • Corey Conroy, St. Albert AB
  • Janice Duguid, Morden MB
  • Stefan Idziak, Waterloo ON

Bottom - left to right:

  • Jim Jo, Regina SK
  • Sherman Lang, London ON
  • Maria Price, Toronto ON
  • John Waddington, Brockville ON
  • Clara Westwell-Roper, Vancouver BC
Recipients receive a crystal award, which is usually presented at a Regional Science Fair or the Canada-Wide Science Fair.

The complete list of recipients, from 1985 to the present, may be viewed on the Distinguished Service Awards page, along with the nomination guide.