CWSF 2013 Host Committee honoured with ASTech Award

Tue, 2013-07-23 10:41 -- Reni Barlow

Today, the ASTech Foundation announced that the Southern Alberta Technology Council - Canada-Wide Science Fair 2013 Host Committee has been selected as an honouree for the 2013 ASTech Awards in the category of Excellence in Science & Technology - Public Awareness.

In accepting the challenge of bringing this important national event to Lethbridge, the Southern Alberta Technology Council - CWSF 2013 Host Committee put Alberta's science education and research in a national spotlight. The impact of CWSF 2013 will be felt in Lethbridge for some time to come. The pride and acknowledgement of the event's importance in the community was evident through the extensive local media coverage during the week. SATC expects to see a significant increase in participation at the local level over the next several years as exposure to the Canada-Wide Science Fair will help teachers support students in working toward taking their projects to the national level.

The 23 ASTech honourees for 2013 include highly-respected individuals, companies and teams that are paving the way for future innovation and technology. The Honourees will be recognized for their contributions in 13 award categories at the 2013 ASTech Awards Gala on October 25 in Calgary.

The Alberta Science and Technology Leadership (ASTech) Foundation is a not-for-profit organization founded through an industry initiative in 1989. Its mission is to identify and celebrate outstanding achievements in science and technology in Alberta in order to inspire future innovation and leadership. The ASTech Awards are Alberta’s highest Science and Technology honours.